Support Portal

Welcome, Guest Login

Support Center

Migrating to New Volumes and Keeping the Same Mount Points

Last Updated: Jul 17, 2017 03:45PM PDT

Applies to...

  • DxEnterprise 15.0
  • DxEnterprise 15.5
  • DxEnterprise 16.0
  • DxEnterprise 17.0

Summary

The process to migrate your existing data to a new volume while retaining your existing data paths and mount points.

Information

Here is the recommended procedure:

  1. Present the new disks to the cluster, manage, create volumes and format them (as explained in the DxEnterprise Administration Guide)
  2. Mount the new volumes to a temporary location through DxEnterprise Storage Manager (right-click the volume, select “Set Logical Drive”)
  3. Add the disks to the appropriate Diskgroups for each VHost
  4. Right-click on the VHost and select “Stop hosting a virtual host”
  5. Copy the data from the old volumes to the new volumes (from the previously active node for the VHost)
  6. Open Storage Manager
  7. Remove the mount point on the old volume (right-click the volume, select “Set Logical Drive”, select the mount assignment, click “Remove”, click “Submit”)
  8. Add the mount point on the new volume (right-click the volume, select “Set Logical Drive”, click “Add”, specify the mount point, click “Ok”, click “Submit”)
    • You can also remove the temporary mount assignment from step 2 at this point
  9. Repeat step 7 and 8 for each volume associated with the Diskgroup for the VHost
  10. Right-click on a node under the VHost and select “Start hosting on node” to bring the VHost back up on that server
  11. Verify that all of your applications/fileshares are functional and able to access the new volumes on that VHost
  12. Repeat steps 4 through 11 on each additional VHost

Contact Us

support.desk@dh2i.com
http://assets0.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete